Bioscience Horizons

I have been thinking about whether I should publish in Bioscience Horizons for a while now, and this winter I have encouraged two former undergraduate project students to submit their work there.

Bioscience Horizons is a peer-reviewed, online, open access scientific journal in the biosciences which only publishes research from undergraduate and taught masters students. The student is expected to be the first and corresponding author on the manuscript, although other authors (such as the supervisor) can now be included (when I first looked, which was a while ago, it was the student only)

When I first heard about the journal, I was skeptical – if I wanted my work ‘out there’, surely I should publish it in a ‘proper’ journal, and certainly one that allowed me to be a coauthor, given that I was trying to build my career. Once they started allowing supervisors to coauthor, reflecting those cases where supervisory input is sufficient to warrant authorship, it started to become more appealing as a potential outlet for those projects that perhaps wouldn’t make it into one of the behavioural journals (or bigger), but contained interesting snippets of new research that I felt shouldn’t linger in an undergraduate thesis for ever more.

So this year, I thought I would encourage two students to publish there. Both projects contained those interesting snippets of new information, and both students were happy with the idea of getting a publication from their projects, so we worked together on turning their rather large dissertations into something that fit into Bioscience Horizons rather shorter 5000 word limit.

Ebony Kelk worked on familiarity in ninespine sticklebacks, and Harvey Broadhurst studied the relationship between emergence behaviour and clustering in hermit crabs. Ebony submitted her manuscript before Christmas and we are waiting for the reviewers’ comments. Harvey’s will be submitted very soon. Fingers crossed!

stickleback-and-crab

Ninespine stickleback (Credit: Piet Spaans) and hermit crabs (Credit: Harvey Broadhurst)

 

Leave a Reply

